Welcome to the Improv

“All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts,”

Act II, Scene VII

Well Willy ol’ boy, that may be As You Like It, but I have learned better.

I intend to, in no way, belittle life. It is a tremendously wonderful thing to get to experience and I am daily in awe. Perhaps what is lost in these famous lines from The Bard is the sticky, gooey, comedic lunacy. Life is a giant romance and an epic tragedy, brief and seemingly endless, prim and bawdy.  To be brief, even when painful, Life is wonderful!

As made abundantly clear to me with the birth of our first, this thing we call ‘life’ is indeed a giant play, the world a stage, and we but players. Prior to this year I always considered the noble and grand aspect of this truth. The coin has flipped.

Life is not merely a play, it is the most difficult of plays. Life is improvisation. As much as I love to fancy myself worthy of the Globe, or the Met, or Broadway, I think I am lucky to be part of the Public Access, ‘Who’s line is it’ spin-off that I live.

Welcome to my life! I have no idea what I am doing or what is next.

I am, after all, just making it up as I go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

